Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to search


In 1797, two modest brick buildings were constructed to house the Parliament for the recently established province of Upper Canada. The province was then only six years old and its capital had just been moved from Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake) to York (now Toronto). Located south of today’s Front Street, and west of Parliament Street, these were the first purpose-built parliament buildings in the province.

Today, four parcels of land in downtown Toronto comprise the original site of the parliament buildings (known collectively as the Parliament block). The Ontario Heritage Trust owns the parcel at 265 Front Street East and the City of Toronto owns the other three parcels at 271 Front Street East, 25 Berkeley Street and 54 Parliament Street. This internationally significant registered archaeological site holds the buried remains of the York Parliament and with it our connection to the early history of Ontario.

Parliament interpretive centre

Opened in February 2012 at 265 Front Street East in Toronto, the Trust’s Parliament interpretive centre was a special project established to commemorate the site of Ontario’s first parliament buildings and the bicentennial of the War of 1812. With the completion of the bicentennial, the interpretive centre closed at the end of 2014.

The interpretive centre featured the exhibit Foundations & Fire: Early Parliament and the War of 1812 Experience at Yorknow available online. It shares the story of the birth of representative government in Ontario; the burning of the parliament buildings by American troops during the War of 1812 (and the retaliatory burning of the White House in Washington); the establishment of a jail on the site, then of a gasworks that fuelled much of Victorian and Edwardian Toronto; and the fascinating archaeological excavations that brought these stories to light.

Next steps in bringing the Parliament story to life

Following the closure of the interpretive centre, the Trust has developed new plans to continue sharing the story of the Parliament block. These plans will be rolled out over 2015 and include the online version of the Foundations & Fire exhibit, ongoing activities such as lectures and tours, and outdoor signs and multi-media installations that will animate the public spaces on the block. The Trust is in discussions with the City and the community and looks forward to exciting opportunities for collaboration as we move forward with the next phase in the interpretation of this important site.

As an interim measure, the Trust’s property is being leased to a commercial tenant, while plans for the long-term revitalization, commemoration and enhancement of the Parliament block are in discussion. Revenues from the lease will allow the Trust to fund activities in the near-term that continue to share and promote the history of the site. Visit this website for updates about these activities throughout 2015.

Long-term plans – Looking to the future

Future plans for the Parliament block are being developed collaboratively between the City of Toronto and the Ontario Heritage Trust. The Trust’s approach to the future of the Parliament block is guided by a set of principles outlining the agency’s long-term vision for the site:

  1. ensure the long-term protection, interpretation and preservation of the site of Ontario's First Parliament Buildings;
  2. be appropriate to the level of significance of the site and reflect that by creating a publicly accessible world-class landmark destination and attraction that serves the public interest;
  3. provide opportunities on site for a range of public education and interpretation that meet the highest standards;
  4. clearly connect, visually and physically, to the public park and open space to the south of the site;
  5. identify the full extent of all existing cultural heritage resources located within the site, prior to any decision on site alterations, using an approach of minimal intervention;
  6. conserve in situ and interpret the significant archaeological resources located on the site to the highest standards incorporating modern interpretive solutions;
  7. be undertaken in a collaborative and inclusive manner that takes into consideration the objectives and goals of the parties and stakeholders involved.
Long-term plans for the block will take several years to come to fruition. In the interim, the Trust’s activities to promote and share the history of the site will continue.


For more information, please contact:

Sam Wesley
Coordinator, Toronto Region Sites
Ontario Heritage Trust
Telephone: 416-314-4907
Visit the Fulford Place website

Visit the Fulford Place website

Spend a century with us today! Learn about this famous Edwardian mansion along the St. Lawrence River. (Photo: Glyn Davies Photography)
See what’s in our collections

See what’s in our collections

Explore the collection at Fulford Place